Losing Health Benefits - Posted by raelynn mitchell

Posted by MilNC on December 12, 1998 at 18:10:51:

I hope this doesn’t duplicate previous post of mine,
but I hit the wrong button and lost it; I apologize.
My ins. is with Kirke Van-Orsdel. I just got notice
Dec. 11, that the premium will go up 30% by Jan 1.
The letter is dated December 1, 1998
That is for a single, no dependents, non-smoker, no
claims in the 4 years I’ve had the policy (started at
about 190/month);no claims on my previous policy for 15 years. I can increase the deductible…well,
I have to at this point or drop that insurance. My premium will be $390/month.
So if someone has the NASE info, please post.
Also, thanks to Raelynn. I’ll have to check out the
benefits of incorporating for this very reason.

Losing Health Benefits - Posted by raelynn mitchell

Posted by raelynn mitchell on December 09, 1998 at 12:32:19:

I worked as a temporary worker for several years. One of the positions I held had me reviewing and approving bills for payment. Funny thing about health insurance: it’s overrated. People work strange jobs they hate because they “need the benefits”.

Several friends even to this day look at me strange when I suggest they quit that “permanent” job and get a temporary job doing exactly the same thing but paying $3-7 more per hour. But what I learned when approving corporate bills for payment was, when you took what the company paid for health benefits and
divided it by 4 weeks in a month, divided that number by 40 hours, you usually got between $1-2.50 per hour. So my thinking is this: get the higher paying job,
call Kaiser Permanente or some other HMO (Blue Cross, etc.) and find out what it takes to get their individual insurance (they call it different things) and pay for your OWN health insurance (and have more $$$ left!).

And another thing that’s “funny” about a “permanent” job: I’ve seen temps end up being the last one to be let go in some instances. That permanent job may not