Manufactured Homes As Investment - Posted by Sadhna Ram

Posted by CL2 on October 28, 2003 at 15:14:29:

I’m new to the real estate development area, however, have you tried searching for an area for a lot? As you know, lots may already have the sewer and utilities in place. Subdivisions under construction may be worth a shot. The builders/realtors sell lots and you may be able to bring in your own builder. Perhaps, the manufactured home could be ideal for the subdivision.

If someone has more detailed information, please feel free to correct or add anything to what I’ve stated.

Thanks.

Manufactured Homes As Investment - Posted by Sadhna Ram

Posted by Sadhna Ram on October 28, 2003 at 13:22:38:

Has anyone handled an investment project where you purchase a piece of land (Zoned Residential), purchase a “Manufactured House” and have it installed on the land. This may have included improving the land, bringing in utilities, etc. as part of the project. I would like to know about your experience and ROI.

I have been searching my area for land (Zoned R1) to purchase in order to place a manufactured home on it. I live in the Sacramento area. It seems by the time you buy the land, improve it, prepare the foundation, pay for permits, utilities, etc., it would be better for me to buy a stick-built home (the costs are about equal). I keep hearing manufactured homes are a good real estate investment, but I can’t seem to get the numbers to show as such. Any suggestions or comments?

Re: Manufactured Homes As Investment - Posted by Dan - GA

Posted by Dan - GA on October 28, 2003 at 18:23:00: