MH Deals in California - Posted by Mitchell CA

Posted by Gary CA on October 13, 2003 at 01:53:32:

Some counties will not allow you to put MHs older than a certain age on land you may buy. I believe it was Lake County or maybe the city of Clearlake that told me they would not allow MHs older than 1979 models to be set up on land within their jurisdiction.

MH Deals in California - Posted by Mitchell CA

Posted by Mitchell CA on October 12, 2003 at 18:10:38:

Hi Doc,

I am new to used mobile home investing and after reading Lonnie’s first book, I am doing my homework and gathering as much information as possible regarding the market in my area. I currently live in Northern California, San Leandro to be precise and I have been reading posts from the CREonline forums (did a search on “california”) and have also visited a few parks in my area and talked to a few sellers and park managers: basically I am getting a feel for the market and getting my feet wet.
I still have a lot more scouting and probing to do, but I do have a couple of questions that I would like to clarify and also confirm some of the thoughts and ideas that I have gathered in the past few weeks.

One thing that seems to be a common question on the forum is whether or not Lonnie Deals are possible in California… no need to answer that one… I already know that the answer is YES!!!
My question is mostly regarding the wholesale pricing of used mobile homes in the area. As Lonnie mentions in his book, the wholesale prices of MHs might need some adjustment depending on the market conditions of a particular area. So my question is, based on your experience purchasing used MHs in Northern CA - Bay Area, what price range should I aim for in negociating a MH deal, for a typical single wide, 12x60, 20 - 30 years old MH?