MLS System??? Beginner needs help - Posted by Julie Cadman

Posted by George(OH) on December 27, 1999 at 18:47:18:

nt

MLS System??? Beginner needs help - Posted by Julie Cadman

Posted by Julie Cadman on December 26, 1999 at 20:34:20:

I am a beginner in the real estate investing field, and I am trying to learn as much as possible before going out and acting on it. Right now I am trying to find out how I can access the MLS system, but have been told that it is not available in my area (western Michigan), and that I would not be able to access it anyway, since I am not a real estate agent. I have also learned that if I were to become a real estate agent, even just for the MLS system, I would have to disclose the true value of the property to the sellers, along with my offer. I am considering getting my real estate license, so that I could access the MLS system, and have my husband be the one that actually talks with the sellers. I really don’t know what else to do, so I am turning to you for help. Any information that you have would be very helpful. Thanks.

Re: MLS System??? Beginner needs help - Posted by george

Posted by george on December 30, 1999 at 16:45:29:

As I see it realtors have two edges that others do not have. If Realtors did not have these advantages why would you become a Realtor? Can you name any other advantages?

1. They have a relationship with HUD that allows them a 6% discount + access to hud homes
  2. They have access to the MLS.

Note: You currently have to pay alot of money for a Level II screen, maybe Realtors should charge to get onto MLS. Police and Teachers have wangled an even bigger discount from HUD.

Re: MLS System??? Beginner needs help - Posted by Kenneth N. Simmons

Posted by Kenneth N. Simmons on December 27, 1999 at 18:54:50:

You can locate the MLS listings in your area by going to www.hud.gov. Browse through this area and you will find Realtor Net. I stumbled onto accidently.