Mobile Home Repo - Posted by Greg

Posted by DC (IL) on June 18, 1999 at 06:59:14:

you could rent a storage unit in your city to temporarily store these items. Maybe the previous owner will surface and you can recoup your rent from him/her.

Or…

Maybe you can contact some relatives of the former owner. Perhaps they would know what to do with these personal items. If all else fails after you made a good faith effort, chuck 'em.

Mobile Home Repo - Posted by Greg

Posted by Greg on June 17, 1999 at 23:50:49:

I’m a Newbie who has been doing “Lonnie” deals. I have found my absolute best deals have been finance company repos. Here is my dilemma. I found a nice 14 X 70 that was repo’ed by a finance company I have been working with. I think I can get it for under $2500.00 and probably sell it for $ 6-8000 carrying the paper. When I went to look at it I found that the prior owner’s personal effects were still in the MH. Jewelry, pictures, clothes, food, etc. Now what do I do? Just because the MH was repo’ed doesn’t mean I can sell all these personal items and effects does it? I was told that the former owner took off to Mexico a few months ago. Do I dare to dispose of these items? The manager of the finance company tells me I can do whatever I want with the personal items. I don’t think so. Any ideas?

Re: Mobile Home Repo - Posted by Freddy Wells

Posted by Freddy Wells on June 20, 1999 at 24:38:33:

I would box up all the personal belongings and hang onto them for a couple of months and if you don’t hear from the owner, I would dispose of them.

I know when a car is repoed in my home state of Oklahoma and personal belongings are still in the car, we bag up the junk, put there name on the bags and store it for a couple of months before throwing it out. I would take pictures of all the stuff as it appears in the home before moving it out to proove what was or wasn’t there at time of possession.

Re: Mobile Home Repo - Posted by Walt_FL