Mortgage rate for people with bad credit - Posted by Chris

Posted by Ralph VA on April 20, 1999 at 17:59:10:

Let me know if he cant help you in NJ. I’m pretty sure I can. I’m a loan officer in VA and have access to 100s of lenders nationwide.

Ralph C. in VA

Mortgage rate for people with bad credit - Posted by Chris

Posted by Chris on April 20, 1999 at 14:46:06:

I have seen alot of ads recently that say people with bad credit can qualify for a mortgage. I am curious to know what kind of interest rate can a person with bad credit and a BK expect to get on a 30 year fixed rate mortage?

Re: Mortgage rate for people with bad credit - Posted by James-IN

Posted by James-IN on April 20, 1999 at 16:26:31:

Chris,

It really depends when the derogatory credit happened in relation to the BK and how much time has past since the BK discharge.

If the derogatory credit happened after the BK then that’s not good. The lender will look at that borrower as a high credit risk and will set a high interest rate accordingly (if they even do the loan at all). The rate will be some were in the range of 11-18+%. Afterall, the borrower was given a chance to start over and went right back to having credit problems.

If the derogatory credit happened before and lead to a BK filing, the borrower may qualify for a lower rate. This is especially true if the borrower has re-establish credit since the BK and has shown that they can handle their credit obligations. In fact, in some cases, if the borrower has a high credit score (around 640+) and the BK is discharge (as soon as 1 day), they could qualify for 100% financing (i.e., First Franklin).