Multifamily Analysis Help Needed - Posted by dave

Posted by Mark (SDCA) on April 06, 2000 at 14:51:47:

It looks to me like the expenses he is quoting you are low. (This is VERY common.) I would use that to negotiate a lower price. But frankly, if you have to get new financing, I would pass on this one. The key to these small apartment buildings is assumable loan + seller carry. Commercial financing is simply not attractive.

Mark

Multifamily Analysis Help Needed - Posted by dave

Posted by dave on April 06, 2000 at 13:02:59:

I am a newbie to Rental Property and am wondering if I can turn this into a ‘do-able’ deal. I know that it is not there today… looking for ideas on a counter… 8 unit; average condition for neighborhood; average to above average need for light maintenance; On to the financials:

Gross Rents = 53,000

Expenses:
elect, gas, water, garbage, tax & ins = 11,000
I added 3% for mgmt & 250 per unit maint = 3,600

NOI = $38,400

Institutional Lender 75% LTV; 9.375%int; 20yr
Debt service = 28,800 yr.

Seller carry 25% LTV; 8%int; 20yr amort; 5yr ballon
Debt service = 9,200 yr.

Cashflow $1,000 yr.

So far this is sounding bad but here’s my dilema; the cap rate is 11.5 (good cap in my opinion) and naturally the seller feels the rents can be increased 10%…good neighborhood, etc.?

Does anyone have any ideas on ways that I could counter? He wants to 1031 it. The most obvious is price… but I have to think outside of the box on this one… It has to cashflow and I don’t want to put my money on the line…

Any ideas would be appreciated…

thanks in advance.
dave.

Re: Multifamily Analysis Help Needed - Posted by Jim Rayner

Posted by Jim Rayner on April 06, 2000 at 19:37:20: