My First Motivated Seller - Posted by Heather

Posted by phong on August 21, 2003 at 20:35:42:

I don’t think that’s a motivated seller there…

My First Motivated Seller - Posted by Heather

Posted by Heather on August 21, 2003 at 20:27:01:

I’m a newbie whose been actively looking for my first deal for the first time this week. I’ve read and studied and am gearing up to take the plunge. I came across my first motivated seller today but I hesitate to do the deal because I’m not sure that the numbers work. Here’s the scoop:

Seller is asking $218,000. I belive it’s worth approx. $225,000. Willing to do a wraparound (she only owes $42,000) but for no longer than 12 months and wants no less than $10,000 down. She will not budge on the down payment. Debts payments= $1116. Expected rent=$1300, which I’m not sure leaves me enough cash flow for expenses. Plus the large amount that she wants down represents about 1/3 of my working capital which I’m a little uncomfortable with.

Is there an opportunity here that I’m not seeing? Thank you for the advice.

Re: My First Motivated Seller - Posted by Tom-FL

Posted by Tom-FL on August 23, 2003 at 14:45:10:

>> Seller is asking $218,000. I belive it’s worth approx. $225,000.

Well, 225,000 X .7 = 157,500.

I would suggest starting the bid at around $140,000 and see what happens. If the house is in good shape, you should be able to get around 140-150k hard money, and have her carry the rest.

Re: My First Motivated Seller - Posted by Nate(DC)

Posted by Nate(DC) on August 22, 2003 at 11:08:56:

the reason you are not seeing an opportunity is because there isn’t one…

NT

Re: My First Motivated Seller - Posted by Clair-MO

Posted by Clair-MO on August 21, 2003 at 21:54:16: