Need help closing a deal. - Posted by Marc Dyer

Posted by Marc Dyer on March 20, 1999 at 19:13:49:

FJW,
I have a partner. He does have the capacity to get the financing. But how do I get him out of the deal right after purchase. Is there any way I can entice him by giving him an easy escape after the thing is bought. I was thinking that; what the original owner wont go for my partner would, in terms of financing, but I dont want to have him tied up in this deal too long.

Need help closing a deal. - Posted by Marc Dyer

Posted by Marc Dyer on March 17, 1999 at 11:14:48:

I found a great income property. I am a contractor I just finished renovating the building for the owner. There is nothing left to do. I also have enough leftover stock to maintain it for the next year. It is a six unit rented as an SRO (Single Room Occupancy) It grosses 5400.00 per month! I have been onsite at this place for about two years off and on and I know how the place works, the vacancy rate is almost nil. The owner has a property manager that sends him a fixed fee per month regardless of vacancy.I live 5 minutes from the place. The guy get his money like clockwork and he lives about two hours from the place. Now for the problem I have tried and tried with no luck to get this guy to go for some creative financing. He will not, his attitude is that “The building is fully occupied and fully renovated I am making money on the place now” The building is totally paid for and he is willing to give me a deal only on the price.
I have gone to a conventional lender who is telling me with my credit That I need 40% down and the rate is 13%
I have shopped other places but it still requires a down payment upwards of 20+ percent. They tell me I cannot borrow the down payment and to get it into the bank A.S.A.P.
The owner absolutely refuses anything but a conventional deal (He wants all the cash) because the place makes a pile of money.