need help - Posted by RD-Atl

Posted by RD-Atl on June 12, 2000 at 13:03:55:

Thanks Phil for your response.
I mentioned “house for sale” for quickly getting the “fair market value”. I read somewhere that it is the quickest way, eventhough not accurate. I do not know any realtor (being new in real estate) to get the comps and “fair market value” is needed before an offer could be made.
Thanks again Phil,
RD-Atl

need help - Posted by RD-Atl

Posted by RD-Atl on June 12, 2000 at 01:31:39:

Hi friends,
I am new in real estate investing. I have located several prospects for rehabs, with no realtor sign on any of them.
Looking at the board, I feel I need to find the owners first.
Since there are no houses for sale, except for one foreclosure, through a realtor, how do I get realistic comps ? Is there any website ? How much does it cost ?
After locating the owner, how should I make the offer, all cash at discounted price ? How to determine the amount ? What if the seller wants the full price ?
Since I am not planning to rehab the house myself, can I sell it “as is”, before I close ?
Where does the closing occure in GA, at title co. or at attorny’s office ? What kind of costs, am I looking for ?
What else do I need to do ?
Please help. Thanks.
RD-Atl.

Re: need help - Posted by JoeB(Atlanta)

Posted by JoeB(Atlanta) on June 12, 2000 at 21:40:23:

Hi RD, Phil did a good job of answering your questions.

In addition, I would HIGHLY recommend that you join our local REI association $120/yr(Georgia REIA 770-451-8800). It’s not-for-profit, 1500 members and meets every 2nd Monday (you just missed tonight’s).

They’ve got an office w/all the online property services, lending library and lots of $99 seminars that have quality info taught by local gurus.

Hope to see you there,
Joe Brillante

Re: need help - Posted by phil fernandez

Posted by phil fernandez on June 12, 2000 at 09:36:35:

Answers to a couple of your questions.