Need some advice - Posted by Rosalyn_MD

Posted by Rosalyn_MD on April 12, 2000 at 08:41:49:

Thanks,
I will let you know how it goes. His time line is June 30. By the way I don’t have the $5000. It will rent for appr 1200-1250.

Need some advice - Posted by Rosalyn_MD

Posted by Rosalyn_MD on April 10, 2000 at 11:25:02:

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie and I have been reading and digesting this site practically everyday since late Feb. I have a r/e agent that is working with me and she gave me these facts:

The seller is motivated b/c of debt relief and he is willing to L/O. However, he wants $5000 cash for another property. We already have a qualified L/O with a deposit of
$1750. How would you suggest that I work this through.
P.S. The seller is also going thru a nasty divorce. He is not willing to except a smaller down payment and take the rest in a note.
Any advice or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Rosalyn_MD

Re: Need some advice - Posted by JBinMD

Posted by JBinMD on April 10, 2000 at 12:46:58:

Hi Rosalyn,

We may need some more information, there isn’t enough to go on to decide whether or not the $5K he wants is unreasonable. Is this a $95K house or a $400K house? What is your strike price? What are the comps in the neighborhood? If you don’t have the $5K, will he accept some sort of trade? How long is he willing to L/O the property for (ie - for how long can you tie it up)? A good question to ask is “Mr. Seller, are you telling me that if I don’t pay you $5K in cash right now that we can’t make a deal that will relieve you of your debt?” (A version of Ron LeGrand’s famous question)