NEED TO KNOW ALL ABOUT SECTION 8 - Posted by Anthony Henry

Posted by Anthony Henry on March 20, 2000 at 11:09:13:

Yes and No Chris. There is rent control. But remember Section 8 tells you upfront what they will give you for your rental units. In my case and lots of others, the section 8 rents are actually about 20-40 above market right now. I think Im beginning to understand why. See in NYC we have a severe shortage of apartments. I have friends that list apartment listings and believe its no joke. Definately a landlord market lol.

Anthony Henry

NEED TO KNOW ALL ABOUT SECTION 8 - Posted by Anthony Henry

Posted by Anthony Henry on March 18, 2000 at 17:11:10:

Hello Everyone Im a newbie to this site, stumbled on this site by sheer luck or fate whichever. Im a beginning RE Investor in New York, Im actually closing on my first property a Four Family in Far Rockaway. The PLAN, to rent it out via Section 8. I’ve done all the research on the propery and the numbers work out fabulously. But here is where I’m stuck Ive been trying to get as much info on Section 8, the rules regarding tenancy, how long does the process take on a whole, from signing up to having them come out and check the property. Also what do they really check for on their checklist. If anyone is doing this her in NY and Im sure there are. I would appreciate some thorough input. And thanks in advance to all responses.

Anthony Henry
Looking to retire in 3 to 5 yrs…

Re: NEED TO KNOW ALL ABOUT SECTION 8 - Posted by T jent

Posted by T jent on March 19, 2000 at 23:57:17:

I have a building that is 80% Sec 8 tenants. There is a certain amount of red tape. The Housing Department will do an inspection to make sure the building is habitable/up to code. This is pretty easy to pass due to the fact that with the current housing crunch, at least in LA where I am, there is a major shortage of Sec. 8s available, and their aim right now is to facilitate things, not make them harder.