New in North Carolina - Posted by Jason-NC

Posted by chris on November 13, 2000 at 12:55:47:

Thanks Fred, I understand now.

New in North Carolina - Posted by Jason-NC

Posted by Jason-NC on November 11, 2000 at 11:13:22:

I just ordered DOW and would like to get started shortly after reading it. I have studied real estate for years, and grew up in a home where both parents were licensed. I am an accountant by profession and have a North Carolina corporation on the side that is currently inactive.

I noticed that at least one person on this board does this type of deal in North Carolina and I would like to ask about state licensure requirements. After so many deals, are we required to get a MH dealer’s license? How many deals would that be? Where in North Carolina are some of the other investors on this board?

Since my studies have been with houses, the MH world is new to me. It seems to be a completely different animal and seems to abound with opportunity. I look forward to joining the ranks of the successful investors I’ve found here.

Thanks,

Jason

Re: New in North Carolina-FORMULA FOR SUCCESS - Posted by Fred-Ohio

Posted by Fred-Ohio on November 11, 2000 at 13:38:39:

Formula for success:

Read Lonnies books (BOTH OF THEM)

Read the want ads

Hit the parks

Meet the park mangers, get to know them, check to see that they will be supportive of your business

Put $6000/10,000 in your MH Wheel and Deal account( enough for 2/3 deals)

Line up an insurance broker who will help you insure an unoccupied MH

Through park managers, want ads, for sale by owner signs find a MOTIVATED SELLER or two

By looking at apartment rents, MH lot rent and your market conditions make a JUDGEMENT on what you can sell a MH for

Divide your selling price by two and subtract fix-up costs, 2/3 months of park rent, utility cost and insurance for 2/3 months and you have your target purchase price. MAKE SURE THAT YOU CHECK WITH THE PARK MANAGER TO BE SURE THE MH CAN STAY IN THE PARK!!