New Investor - What to do? - Posted by Mark

Posted by jodie on July 23, 2007 at 05:24:13:

hi mark,
It depends if you have the funds to back you up.
if not then wholesale but if you do and you have the funds why not let a re investor help you it might cost you a little bit its better than losing everything

New Investor - What to do? - Posted by Mark

Posted by Mark on July 23, 2007 at 02:58:40:

Hello, my name is Mark.

My FICO score is 725, if that matters. I am very interested in flipping properties. I am a new investor. I think that I would estimate the repair cost pretty close on the flips. I have a Real Estate Sales Degree from a local college, so I know a little about pricing of houses. Could anyone help me, by telling me if flipping is a good investment start. If not, what is? I do want to work hands on in Real Estate, not behind the scenes, like a scout or anything. Anything helps here.

-Mark

Re: New Investor - What to do? - Posted by Ronnie

Posted by Ronnie on July 28, 2007 at 20:32:59:

No, your fico score does not matter. What matters is how good the deal is because if the deal is good you will get the cash.

As you’ve already read on the other replies wholesaling might be a better way to start until you get more familiar with the rehab process. Your risk is very minimal and you’re in and out of a deal just like that. Rehabbing isn’t as easy as it sounds. You really need to know how to plan and what to plan for. If you think you can do it then go ahead but be very sure you are ready. Most investors will advise you against doing a rehab as your first deal.

Hope this helps!

Re: New Investor - What to do? - Posted by Trevor

Posted by Trevor on July 23, 2007 at 22:51:47:

Hey Mark,

Congrats on the Fico once again. That definetely doesn’t hurt. However, if you are going to go about it as a legitimate business that fico won’t matter as much as you may think.