New to Mobile Home - Posted by tiger5

Posted by Dr. Craig Whisler CA NV on October 03, 2003 at 16:09:19:

You are right about a couple of things. My experience with this area was 30 years ago and just last week I drove through San Ramon again, on my way to check out a mobile home park for sale in Northern California, and it really has changed. I lived in Concord at the time and I was comparing the prices in the San Ramon area with Walnut Creek, Danvile, Alamo, Lafayette, Orinda and Moraga. Compared to those nearby areas, San Ramon was CHEAP. I didn’t see anything but expensive homes from the freeway this time. Thanks for the heads up.

Regards, doc

New to Mobile Home - Posted by tiger5

Posted by tiger5 on September 28, 2003 at 01:01:08:

Hi,
I am new to mobile home.
When I conside buying a home, I found that mobile home is one of the good option to setup home.
I live in Northen California, Silicon Valley area and the house is too expensive. Compared to house price, mobile home is much more affordable.
But the mobile park rent cost too much, too. My question is:
Is possible to buy a piece of land on my own and then buy a mobile home and setup the mobile home my own land so I don’t need pay the mobile park rent?

Any suggestion will be appreciated.

Possible yes. Easy no. Here is how to do it. - Posted by Dr. Craig Whisler CA NV

Posted by Dr. Craig Whisler CA NV on September 28, 2003 at 06:15:01:

Yes its possible. You may have to go eastward to the San Ramon/Livermore area to find land that will welcome mobile homes. Even there, don’t expect it to be cheap

The best way to get an accurate answer to this question is to talk to dealers that sell new mobile homes. They will know if this is possible in your area and where it can best be done.