New to Out of State Investing - Posted by Scott B

Posted by Scott B on April 27, 2006 at 10:22:35:

Thanks for that very informative response!

New to Out of State Investing - Posted by Scott B

Posted by Scott B on April 26, 2006 at 15:03:09:

I am new to out of state investing and looking to buy my first fourplex. I’ve been a landlord of my local property here by my house and have had great luck screening tenants and collecting rents etc…

What I am considering is one, how close the state will be to my home state of California. How much each visit there will cost me in time and travel expenses. I am also considering the property taxes in these different states. So far I have considered Texas, New Mexico and Oregon. Assuming that all of these states do very well in the next 3-5 years is there any advantage of going with a state like New Mexico that has cheap property taxes versus some place like Texas with high property taxes?

I am just a little confused as to where I should be prioritizing my preferences for closer location or cheaper property taxes??

Could I expect the states with higher property taxes to also have higher rents than states with cheaper property taxes?

Get Bigger Picture - Posted by Jimmy

Posted by Jimmy on April 27, 2006 at 08:30:21:

property taxes are only one expense in a long list of expenses associated with owning real estate.