Newbie makes BIG mistake....now needs help - Posted by IB (NJ)

Posted by IB(NJ) on November 30, 2000 at 10:17:37:

Thanks Dew:

I’m concerned about the amount of time it would take to find another buyer. So I’m thinking why not buy it myself, hold on to it for about 6 mos. to 1 yr. while collecting pos. cash flow, and then sell it. The mayor of the city (Newark) has just publicly pledged to pump $19 mil into the area within a 7 block radius. This is the same block that the small plane carrying a family of 3 went down and crashed into the KFC. So I’m thinking the houses in the area will appreciate rather nicely in the next couple of years. Maybe I’ll hold onto the house til then.

Newbie makes BIG mistake…now needs help - Posted by IB (NJ)

Posted by IB (NJ) on November 29, 2000 at 22:14:44:

You’ve all probably heard me talking about the deal that I was SUPPOSED to be closing on this week. Well my buyer backed out on me after dealing with him for the last 6 weeks. As a newbie, I made mistakes on this one from day one.

Aside from picking the wrong Contractors for the job (they turned a 3 week project into 2 mos.), we jumped out with no marketing plan. That is, we only knew how to advertise in the newspaper. So after a couple of weeks of trying to figure out how to better market our two fam.(property A) we got desperate for a buyer and decided go under contract with a 30 year old, single, police officer with bad credit and who still lived with his mother. On top of that we attempted to get him in (with a mortgage company contact of ours) with no money down. It wasn’t until I started reading this board that I realized that you never let a buyer with bad credit do a no money down deal. He has nothing at all invested in the deal and can walk away anytime he wishes (he did have $500 earnest money in it). Which of course he did. So here’s my current situation which I need advice on.