newbie ratio question - Posted by rick m

Posted by Patrick on April 09, 2006 at 22:59:43:

I am not expierenced or anything but from what I read and the one deal I have in the works now I wouldnt even give him a price. Make him give you a price and work him down from there. If you offer him 70k how are you going to feel if he would have been willing to go 50k?(that might be extreme but hey ya never know)even if he wants more then your willing to pay say youll take it and bring it under contract. Make sure your contract is subject to partner/inspector aproval. After you have it under contract get a buyer to tell you how much he will pay. Call back the seller and tell him your partner says your only willing to pay $xx or after inspection it will cost more then estimated to fix it. Of course Im not expierenced so dont take my word for it.

newbie ratio question - Posted by rick m

Posted by rick m on April 09, 2006 at 21:20:27:

I am new to this site but I love it! As a newbie I had a quick question about some quick ratio calculations I came up with to value distressed property. Please take a moment to comment on this and if I have made any errors or omissions please help me out, I don’t want to lose money on my first deal! Thanks!

Here what I have come up with:

1. Estimated Value of Property based on comps
  2. Automatic discount of 20% price for quick resale
  3. Minus Estimated Repairs
  4. Minus 10% profit

Using the house I saw today worth $131,000 here is how it would work:

Value: $131,000
Discount: ($26,200)
Repairs: ($20,000)
Profit: ($8,480)
Offer: $76,320

I will start the offer at $70K and go from there.

On the side of the spreadsheet, as a check and balance, I have quick ratios of 50%, 60% and my max EVER (not in this case) of 70%

The ratios are
50% $65,500.00
60% $78,600.00
70% $91,700.00

My question is less about is this a good deal as is this a good way to estimate a quick offer price?

Re: newbie ratio question - Posted by Fil