Newbie seeking help - Posted by T. Barnes

Posted by JPiper on May 19, 1999 at 07:25:03:

There may be someone out there that has actually done one of these…it’s not me, and while I would never say “never”, my guess is it won’t be you either.

Why don’t you read some of the articles available on this site? In particular, pay close attention to lease/options. My guess is that this will get you where you want to go quicker than the munibond technique.

JPiper

Newbie seeking help - Posted by T. Barnes

Posted by T. Barnes on May 19, 1999 at 07:18:19:

I just formed a new corporation for buying a new home for my family and for investment purposes. As a Newbie, I have $1,500 to start with. How can I get lenders to fund SFH and other properties with very little money? I’m new at this and will try anything to succeed. I have heard of a technique by using muni-bonds to purchase RE. Thought this is a great way to go. Can anyone advise on the success with using this method of financing RE?
Please advise

From the Podium to the Pavement - Posted by John Behle

Posted by John Behle on May 19, 1999 at 10:58:39:

This is one of those techniques that sounds good, but doesn’t execute well. Few sellers or their agents are so naive that they wouldn’t or couldn’t find out the value of bonds. If they were that naive, I would suggest the best route in investing is not to take unfair advantage of people.

Bonds as opposed to discounted mortgages do not have a “range of value”. The circumstances where you can negotiate a successful “bond trade” deal are very rare and in most cases extremely un-ethical.

Getting a deal accepted could end up in a devastating lawsuit later. The naive seller finds out he’s been “cheated” (as they and likely the courts) will view it.

I don’t mean to be negative here, just realistic from experience and seeing people waste their time with this technique for years. As I said, there are rare circumstances where bonds have been used successfully.