No money down techniques in today's economy? - Posted by Tim

Posted by Tim on February 16, 2001 at 08:30:37:

Thank kind of confirms my beliefs. Thanks.

No money down techniques in today’s economy? - Posted by Tim

Posted by Tim on February 15, 2001 at 16:24:17:

I am new to real estate investing and I was recently speaking with a couple of realtors on the possibility of purchasing a multi-unit home with no money down. They both told me although no money down techniques are feasable, in todays “sellers-market” they are very rare. Most sellers would prefer not to get into holding a note for the buyer. They would rather wait for the next buyer to come along and purchase the home the conventional way. Is anybody finding this to be a true statement? I live in Bristol, CT so I don’t know if it’s true for this area or the whole country. Anybody have any thoughts? Sorry for the long-winded question!!

Re: No money down techniques in today’s economy? - Posted by george

Posted by george on February 21, 2001 at 20:45:19:

Hi Tim,

I live in Cromwell, CT and own a duplex in Middletown.

What the realtor told you is pretty much true, but even Carlton Sheets admits that at any given time 85-90% of sellers are inflexible.

As a clue though, I have noticed several “handyman Specials” for sale via realtors in Bristol. “Rough” handyman specials, owned by somebody who has a small mortgage or none at all may be willing to carry a short term note, since conventional lenders aren’t really interested in fixers. If its any consolation, Bristol still seems to have a few more opportunities available than the Middletown area.

Good Luck,

George

Re: No money down techniques in today’s economy? - Posted by Dave (CA)

Posted by Dave (CA) on February 16, 2001 at 16:14:32: