not quite sure how to do this... - Posted by mo

Posted by Franklin on September 03, 2003 at 16:14:08:

I used to be a stock broker and worked margin calls on accounts quite a bit.

It’s amazing how many people have “no money” to fix their problems until you ask them for it.

not quite sure how to do this… - Posted by mo

Posted by mo on September 02, 2003 at 22:09:47:

I received a call from a guy who owes $460K on a $500K home. He’s willing to walk away immediately for what is owed, which is great… except for the fact that there is very little equit!! Because of the price range (and limited market activity in that range) and the limited equity, my initial suggestion was for him to take a more conventional route and go with a realtor. He called me back today wondering if there is any way that I would be interested. So I’ve been trying to think about a way to make something out of this and this is all that I’ve come up with…
Get an option to purchase the property in one month for 460K. During that month, try to find a buyer would take the property on a lease option. If so, great. If not, then no harm done on my end. Right? Any special paperwork that I would need for this or any issues I should be aware of?
Also, this is in the Dallas/Fort Worth area and I am wondering if anyone has experience lease optioning homes at this price range. His current payment (PITI) is approximately $4000.
Thanks!
MO

Other option - Posted by Franklin

Posted by Franklin on September 03, 2003 at 13:38:52:

If this guy is motivated enough, offer him $400K. Thats about 20% under market.

You never know, he might have enough to do the deal.

Re: not quite sure how to do this… - Posted by Brent_IL

Posted by Brent_IL on September 03, 2003 at 08:02:09: