Note from thin air?? - Posted by Steve (OH)

Posted by Steve (OH) on January 04, 2001 at 18:00:56:

Wow! Great post with explanations. I need to re-read it to fully grasp it, but thank you for taking the time to give such an in-depth lesson!

Best of luck to you as well.

Steve

Note from thin air?? - Posted by Steve (OH)

Posted by Steve (OH) on January 04, 2001 at 14:36:43:

OK, I went to “create-a-mortgage.com” and reviewed the tactics involved in creating notes…I also reviewed several posts on this site. I am new to notes (creating), but have 18 units that I own and have gotten a little creative with them. However, if I am understanding this all correctly and were looking to buy a 5 unit (just made an offer on one that was denied.) and apply the create-a-note method, I could do the following:

if comps in the area are 450-500k on multi units (4-6 units) and I found this 5 unit for 325k as an agreed upon price (this is a desirable area due to college kids), I could create a note with 16% interest rate and amortized on a 20 year term with a balloon due in 36 months. Interest only payments for 36 months. This would make a payment of approx 4300/month.

If I were able to show valid comps equal to a 30% or so discount (“creating” 70% LTV), I would sell this note to a private investor and this would allow me to get into the property with no cash out of my pocket.

Am I off my rocker or do I understand this concept?

Thanks in advance…Love the site.

Steve

Re: Note from thin air?? - Posted by David Butler

Posted by David Butler on January 04, 2001 at 17:01:21:

Hello Steve,

Hey… you aren’t entirely off your rocker :wink: Seriously, you do have some grasp of the principles it sounds like… but you have a few apples mixed in with your oranges.

We have had some lengthy discussion on several of these points, so I want to refrain from covering the same amount of ground here. Perhaps you can use the Archive Search to explore the issue a little further.