Other Peoples Money

I have been hearing for several years that to expand my buying power I need to get a money source other than the bank. I have pretty much exhausted my local banks for financing. I have several term loans and 1 large line of credit. The banks have been great to me but they are increasingly too slow and want 20% down, appraisals and my first born child.

The deal is there are opportunities everywhere and I need cash. I found a couple of my aquaintances who loaned me money against some of my rentals. I pay them monthy interest payments. Great for me and for them. CD’s are paying less than 1%. I am paying them 8-10%.

I bought a house a couple of weeks ago with my own cash and stumbled on 2 SFRs today that I would like to buy, but have no cash. And my LC is maxed out. I called a buddy of mine and offerred him 1st mortgages on all three houses and 8% (int paid monthly) in exchange for cash to buy the 2 and get my cash back on the one I bought.

What is sweet about this type of deal is that technically I will be using none of my money, the rent for 1 property will pay the interest, ins and taxes, and other 2 rents will give me $800.00/mth cash flow.

Cheap houses are the way to go. If only I could find 10 more folks to loan me money to buy rentals, WOW.

I hear you.

I am looking for any financing about couple years, but don’t have any except of my own.

From point where I am at this time you are doing pretty good and I wish to congratulate you. WOW!

Private money is the way to go. Structure it for no money down in a couple ways:

1. Debt financing - Points and interest

2. Equity financing - Think in terms of joint ventures where you can offer equity participation instead of traditional interest. Offer a portion of the rental income and a portion of the future upside equity when you sell the houses.

The key to finding private lenders is not a hard sell or even a strong pitch or marketing…