Please help mathematically challenged newbie! - Posted by Chris

Posted by Mark Kohn (cone) on January 27, 2000 at 17:23:15:

Chris,

I’m a newbie myself. I use an HP 10B. It seems most of the guru’s are going to them (I’m guessing because they are cheaper and it doesn’t cost as much when they throw in a calculator for free.) I learned the basics of calculating yields by reading Lonnie Scrugg’s books (I actually knew a smidge about discounting before that). I have learned even more just by reading this forum.

Check out these articles by John Behle http://www.creonline.com/cashflow/wwwboard3/messages/5824.html
http://www.realestatelink.net/cgi-bin/wwwboard/messages/1939.html

These helped me with Uneven Cash Flows and Partials.

You also might want to download John’s spreadsheets on www.papergame.com. One calculates yields and lets you compare different yields. The other calculates the yield of uneven cash flows.

If you need more material than that get Jon Richard’s course/book off this site. Or, if you are ready, get John Behle’s 5 Day Video Training Course (I just got this course last night – I scanned through it and I can see that it goes into all the details about discounting and yields (every which way). Yippee! Got to get back to studying Behle’s course.

Hope this helps.

Mark Kohn
Houston Texas

Please help mathematically challenged newbie! - Posted by Chris

Posted by Chris on January 27, 2000 at 10:03:42:

Hi everyone. I’ve just read Lonnie’s Y2K article and I cannot figure these yields. If anyone could make this clear I would really appreciate the assistance.

To help you show where I am coming from please let me explain. I see that the 15% discount brings the cash payoff to $3,060. 31% of $3,060 comes to $948.60 for a total of $4008.60. I am looking at this from the angle that you need to make $948.60 on $3,060 to get a 31% yield. How is Lonnie getting the $948.60?

This is over my head right now.