Please Help Me!! - Posted by Jen

Posted by Kep Lee on July 14, 2002 at 15:29:18:

I think what Michael was trying to tell you, is that unless your mortgage payments are substantially lower than your rental income, you won’t have any cash flow.
That could easily spell disaster the 1st time a Tenant decides to skip a payment, or two, or three! How would you make your payments?
You did not waste your $ on Carltons course, but my advice would be for you to learn as much as you can about the entire aspect of this business before you jump in with blinders on. A good place to start would be your county courthouse. Spend one day there meeting and talking to landlords who are there doing evictions.
The lessons you will learn could be priceless!

Please Help Me!! - Posted by Jen

Posted by Jen on July 09, 2002 at 02:33:08:

I’m new to RE and currently studying Carleton’s course. I haven’t finished it yet but I got so excited I started looking at ads and talking to people about two weeks ago (I am still in the 30 day trial period).

This is my issue. I came across a recently built BEAUTIFUL complex of townhomes. I have good friends who moved in two months ago (they are renting) and they tell me that with the exception of one other townhome the rest of the complex is empty. Seems the complex is almost too ritzy for the area, or poor marketing, whatever reason they can’t fill the homes. It is close to a hospital and schools and the freeway. The neighborhood is lower middle class with mostly renters in less ritzy apartment buildings.