Pleeease Help - Have a Motivated Seller? - Posted by AnnL

Posted by B.L.Renfrow on August 28, 2003 at 23:23:47:

There isn’t enough information in your post for us to know whether it’s a deal or not. You would need to know things like, what have similar properties recently sold for, what are the terms of the existing financing, are taxes and/or insurance escrowed/current, are there other liens against the seller, what is the market rent, how is your local housing market, what repairs are needed…and so on.

Do you have the resources to make up the arrears and carry the property for several months while you find a buyer or tenant/buyer?

Perhaps your best bet would be to post the city and state where you’re located. Maybe a local experienced investor would be willing to help you out on this deal – if it really is a deal.

Brian (NY)

Pleeease Help - Have a Motivated Seller? - Posted by AnnL

Posted by AnnL on August 28, 2003 at 13:19:48:

Ok so I am a newbie. Got a call from a seller who has a home with 8 acres he wants to get out of. Has had it 2 years owes $171k appraised $190 behind 2 months in payments. Sounds like a subject to? Not sure please give me some feedback. I only have concentrated on wholesaling and had read subject to’s are not for beginners. Please advise. Thanks a mil!

Re: Pleeease Help - Have a Motivated Seller? - Posted by Ben (OH)

Posted by Ben (OH) on August 29, 2003 at 16:11:45:

I don’t know about your local market, but I’m near a large-ish city of around 1million people and properties with 8 acres can be had, since there’s corn in all directions and building just keeps on going.
I’m pretty new too, but I just want to send a caution to you because I learned an $800 lesson (inspection, appraisal, and then dropped it after much time and thinking) on a similar property from a motivated seller this year in what would have been a bad deal, and it nearly happened becuase I am green, eager, and inexperienced.