Preforeclosure - Get the Deed? or??? - Posted by Dianna

Posted by myles on July 02, 2002 at 18:21:54:

Dianna I think there was an article around this site about discounting a mortgage with the bank…Check the finance forum. I believe you have to negociate with the bank directly. I don’t know, but I remember reading something to this effect.

I am a NEWBIE, so please don’t take this to heart. I just remember something about this in my readings. I am telling you, I will donate some $$ to this site once I am up and running in my business!!

Good luck

Preforeclosure - Get the Deed? or??? - Posted by Dianna

Posted by Dianna on July 02, 2002 at 17:01:14:

Here’s the scoop:

Person called us and they owe way more than the house is worth; however, the house is in decent shape. Some appraiser pushed value on the previous loan, so now they owe $250K and the house is probably worth about $215K. It is set for sale on 8/9. No other liens on the property.

They want to get out of it, but I think they want something to get out of it. The cousin has spent a lot of money and time fixing it up, and it looks good, but there’s no equity.

How to proceed? Negotiated short-sale with the bank? Get the deed? What are the mechanics? I’m getting all of these options mixed up…

Dianna

Re: Preforeclosure - Get the Deed? or??? - Posted by Matt (MPD)

Posted by Matt (MPD) on July 03, 2002 at 04:29:35:

Dianna,
Same phone call I get about 5 or 10 times per week. No equity, refinanced within the last 2 years and got a new loan at 10+% interest and can’t make payments and now they want out. Maybe that’s not all exactly like your’s but nevertheless same outcome with being upside down or negative equity position on the property.

Is there any money for the seller in this? NO. They’ve gotten their money either on a recent re-fi and took cash out or when they purchased it and gave too much to the previous seller and got suckered.