Problems flipping with Real Estate Agents - Posted by Erich

Posted by Redline on March 24, 1999 at 14:56:20:

I agree. You make your offer on your own terms. If they don’t accept it eventually then they’re simply not motivated enough.

RL

Problems flipping with Real Estate Agents - Posted by Erich

Posted by Erich on March 24, 1999 at 08:57:31:

Help… I wanted to make an offer on a house (a good candidate for a flip) and called a this buyer’s agent I have worked with once before. The agent insisted on not writing my offer with the clause “or assign” in the offer in the spot where I place my name under buyer. He said the seller’s agent would consider this insincere…that he would think I was just trying to tie up the property. He insisted I requested the “or assign” clause in an addendum.

Was he right?

Re: Problems flipping with Real Estate Agents - Posted by Denise

Posted by Denise on March 24, 1999 at 20:51:37:

I’m a RE agent. Your agent should do whatever you ask (as long as it’s legal), including negotiating WHATEVER OFFER you wish to make & with a smile on their face!! Contrary to many beliefs ANY CONTRACT IS ASSIGNABLE. Let me say this again…ANY CONTRACT IS ASSIGNABLE; unless it is expressly written in that it is not. I looked it up in my RE law book prior to working with a client who wants to assign. So legally, it doesn’t even have to have the clause written in. Of course, we all do it to avoid any confusion later. As far as your agent is concerned, he/she is merely “advising” you as to what they believe is in your best interest & to have everything clearly out in the open. I personally prefer to write the “right to assign” in where you suggested. It is still clearly visible at the beginning of a contract & you aren’t making that big of deal out of it or drawing to much attention to it as a rider or addendum would. In the end, follow your gut. Your agent either will do what you ask or you should find some