Problems! I Can't Find a Good Flipping Deal - Posted by Erich

Posted by Lee on March 26, 1999 at 12:09:52:

Nearly all REALTOR offices (that I have seen) have the RL Polk and or the Cole books, also call your library to see if they have them.

Lee

Problems! I Can’t Find a Good Flipping Deal - Posted by Erich

Posted by Erich on March 25, 1999 at 09:14:12:

I’m just starting out and have been looking for a good deal to flip or to buy. The problem is that I live in Monterey/Seaside California and the market is hot as a pistol. There is literaly no inventory left in real estate. As of yesterday, There were five active listings in my City, all extremely over priced. I have made offers but no replys. The entire area is being scoured by contractors and agents looking for motivated sellers. Can any one suggest a new plan for me?

Re: Problems! I Can’t Find a Good Flipping Deal - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on March 26, 1999 at 16:36:49:

The 3 main methods I use to find motivated sellers are:

1. Realtor MLS (which has by far the most competition)

2. Pre-foreclosure Lis Pendens Reports which you can buy from most title insurance companies. These give you a weekly list of all the lis pendens or notices of defaults filed in your county that week.

3. Drive neighborhoods looking for signs of motivation. FSBO, vacant houses, high weeds, no curtains in windows, run down.

Another approach - Posted by Jim IL

Posted by Jim IL on March 25, 1999 at 15:15:43:

Well, you said that your looking at the “listed” properties". Perhaps that is the problem.
In my area, there are many homes “listed” and even more that are not.
Check out your “pre-foreclosures” and vacant run down homes.
Often times you’ll find that these people want to sell, but don’t list because they feel no one would want to buy “thier problems”.