public trustee explanation-long - Posted by Rocky Mtn Girl

Posted by Natalie-VA on September 12, 2005 at 13:54:27:

Rocky Mtn Girl,

My husband and I have been investing full-time for 6 years. Our primary focus is to rehab and retail, but we also hold a few rentals.

Good luck in your research!

–Natalie

public trustee explanation-long - Posted by Rocky Mtn Girl

Posted by Rocky Mtn Girl on September 08, 2005 at 17:46:01:

Hello,
I am finding many abandoned/ugly houses in my city. When I do research on them, I find a lot of them are also in foreclosure.

What is confusing to me is what is happening with the property in regards to information on the assesssor’s and public trustee’s websites.

Example 1: A house in foreclosure currently owned by one person-but the borrower is someone else. Who is getting foreclosed on: The current owner or the borrower. The current owner is an investor in my town.

This is from a real life file at the assessor’s site-the names have been changed to protect.
Example 2:
April 2004
Grantor : bob homeowner
Grantee : john homeowner
Warranty Deed-Paid $225k

April 2005
Grantor : john homeowner
Grantee : abc llc
Warranty Deed

August , 2005
Grantor : john homeowner Rec#XXXXXXX
Grantee : 123 LLC
Foreclosure-Public Trustee Deed

August xx, 2005
Grantee : xxx LLC
Grantor : 123 LLC
Quit claim deed

September, 2005
Grantee : larry homeowner Paid 400,000.00
Grantor : xxx LLC
Warranty deed

We had found this property driving in the city and talked to
the woman of 123 llc before the foreclosure and she said the price was 300k. This was a big house-built in the 1800’s. A gut job with asbestos siding and structural work, easily 60-100k rehab. xxx llc and abc llc are incorporated for the same people.
My questions is: What took place in this whole set of transactions. Did John Homeowner quit claim his house and still get foreclosed on?