Purchasing a Commercial Building - Posted by George Pantelakos

Posted by George Pantelakos on January 01, 2001 at 19:15:30:

Jon, Thank you again for your feed back.You have giving me alot to consider.I wish you the best.

Purchasing a Commercial Building - Posted by George Pantelakos

Posted by George Pantelakos on December 30, 2000 at 13:14:41:

I have been managing a commerial building for seven years with four store fronts on the first level and 23 weekly rooms for rent on the second and third floor.The owners are elderly and quite well off financially and would possibly consider selling the property if I approched them.They own the property out right with no mortgage.I would estimate the property to be worth $500,000.00 but it needs $100,000.00 worth of repairs.The total weekly income is $2,209.00 per week.In coversation with the owner once he mentioned someday he might give the property away for the TAX BREAK.This blew my mind.What kind of an approach and offer should I make?Whatever I do I believe they would be flexible.They,I belive would sell or give the property away if I was no longer employed buy them.Thanking you in advance for your help. George Pantelakos

Re: Purchasing a Commercial Building - Posted by Michael Morrongiello

Posted by Michael Morrongiello on December 30, 2000 at 19:08:14:

George:
IF they truly wish to sell to you, here is a way to consider going;

Have them sell you the property and also FINANCE the sale by carrying back (2) two mortgages. One wil be a Very conservative LTV exposure 1st lien mortgage that can be structured so that it can be sold to generate the “fix up” or repair money needed to renovate the building. The other mortgage will be a 2nd lien mortgage that the Sellers will retain and receive monthly interest income on. This will be considered taxable income to them on an “installment sale method” and thus will be very beneficial to them.