Q's on multi-unit aquisition - Posted by Bill(PA)

Posted by Bill¶ on January 25, 2002 at 19:14:57:

n/t

Q’s on multi-unit aquisition - Posted by Bill¶

Posted by Bill¶ on January 23, 2002 at 11:02:13:

Hi,

I’ve been working on trying to wholesale deals, but I’m looking at a quad as a possible deal. I have no experience with multi-unit deals, so I’m asking for a little help.

1. All units are rented. I would want to put on FHA financing and live in one of the units. Am I required to honor all existing leases through the current landlord or can I renegotiate with all of the tenants when I aquire the property(so I can have my own leases signed, while living in one of the units)?

2. Would I be better off trying to find sales comps in the area since it’s a small multi-unit property, or should I use an income-analysis approach(since there aren’t that many quads in the area)?

3. The property does not have individual utilities, AC or laundry–but there is an unfinished basement. Would I want to individualize the utilities, add AC and washer/dryer amenities in the basement to raise rents?

Any other advice?

Thanks!!

Bill¶

A’s on multi-unit aquisition - Posted by David Krulac

Posted by David Krulac on January 23, 2002 at 11:58:50:

Bill,

1. By Pennsylvania law a new owner must honor existing leases, but there is nothing to prevent you from negotiating wiht existing tenants for an early departure.

2. The income approach is more appropriate for larger numbers of units, but you should use BOTH methods, income and comparable sales to determine the value of the property.