Questions bout Contracts/Equity Share - Posted by Henry

Posted by james(CA) on March 17, 2008 at 13:09:26:

Can I have the contact info for the firm? I am interested in getting into 4-plex or bigger apartments with a partner(partners).

Normally what do they require from an investor and partner; credit score etc? Thx

Questions bout Contracts/Equity Share - Posted by Henry

Posted by Henry on June 16, 2006 at 18:53:22:

Hi, my name is Henry and I am a recent college graduate. I have been working part-time at a campus job during college to save up for a future investment opportunity. I recently stumbled across an investment opportunity and would like to ask a few questions regarding ownership/legal issues. I have an uncle who wants to buy a house but the bank requires him to put up a 5% down payment with his own money (excluding gifts). However, he only has half the cash. I could tell from speaking with him that he really wants to buy the house. I told him that I could provide the other half and that we would split the equity. But before I get into this deal, I’d like to make sure that I’m not making any mistakes. In an equity share, is it true that I do NOT need to be a signor of the mortgage contract? My uncle was worried that if I joined them in putting up my money that I would need to be a signor which might increase their loan interest rate since I haven’t had a full-time work history yet. (I’m assuming that I would only sign the mortgage contract if I’m willing to become a cosignor and take on responsibility of the mortgage in case he doesn’t pay his monthly payment.) I understand that an equity share means that there is partial ownership of the property by each investor, but I’m not sure whether all the owners need to sign the same mortgage contract or they need to create a separate contract that states the equity claims. And suppose that creating a separate contract is correct, what do we need to do to go about creating a formal contract that stipulates the