Racist Appraiser-Long Vent - Posted by Tim

Posted by RichV(FL) on July 17, 2003 at 08:44:27:

IB,

Thats what I would do. At least the bank will take him off of their “apraiser” list and find someone that knows how to do their job correctly.

Regards,

RichV(FL)

Racist Appraiser-Long Vent - Posted by Tim

Posted by Tim on July 16, 2003 at 18:41:46:

I am selling a house, bank financing is involved, the bank requires an appraisal, appraiser must be on their approved list. The bank picked the appraiser, but I wasn’t concerned because I’ve been investing for several years & knew the value of the house. The house I am selling is IDENTICAL to a house that sold within the last year for $60,000, the appraisal came in at $43,000. Did I mention that the identical house is on the same street, has the same floor plan & was built at the same time by the same builder?

I made a few phone calls to other investors, the word on this guy is that if he sees someone who is not lily white in the neighborhood he devalues the property. One guy I talked to was refinancing a house that appraised 3 years ago for 40,000, & has had over 6,000 worth of upgrades, this clown appraised for 31,000. Of course this guy doesn’t come right out & say why he under valued the property, he just says in his opinion thats what the house is worth.

Other than refusing to ever do business with this guy or the bank that uses him I don’t know what to do. I am getting a new appraisal from a non-racist, & am confident it will appraise higher, so its kind of a minor glitch. On the other hand, I would really like to go to this guys house & open up a can of whoop ass. I’m too old to do time, so I guess I’ll have to settle for letting all my investor buddies know to look out for this idiot.

Re: Racist Appraiser-Long Vent - Posted by Paul Ness, MAI

Posted by Paul Ness, MAI on July 17, 2003 at 06:08:16: