Re: Low down pymt house - Posted by Henry Stone

Posted by Henry on February 02, 2002 at 21:03:43:

Thanks for the feedback, guys! It was very helpful. I live in New York and houses in the areas that I am interestered in sell for about 145K to 195K. Once I buy the house, property management would be my responsiblity. The real estate company just buys the houses, does the rehab and then resells them. To attract interest from buyers, the company offers low down payments.
I have had some experience as a landlord in the past. Thanks.

Re: Low down pymt house - Posted by Henry Stone

Posted by Henry Stone on February 02, 2002 at 14:04:46:

I am considering doing business with a real estate agency which is in the business of buying “junker” houses, fixing them and then reselling these houses. They offer low downpayments of 4k-5k for single family houses and 6.5k-8K for two family houses. My game plan would then be to rent these houses out. Does this sound like a good idea? What are some of the possible pitfalls? Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Low down pymt house - Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA)

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on February 02, 2002 at 15:44:13:

What you want to find out more on is who will pay to do the fixing up, how much is the rental after completion, does it cover costs with cash flow, who manages the properties, how do ‘they’ determine the downpayments needed, etc… IE: You have a lot more information to get in order to tell if it is a good deal and what pitfalls may happen.

Your message doesn’t discuss these things. We who are reading can only guess at the many possible pitfalls and there are too many to list not knowing all the details.