Real Estate Guru Rating? - Posted by Kevin Plotner

Posted by William Bronchick on February 20, 2002 at 20:37:18:

Donald Trump filed bankruptcy, too. Would you decline real estate advice from him?

Real Estate Guru Rating? - Posted by Kevin Plotner

Posted by Kevin Plotner on February 19, 2002 at 20:49:45:

I’m just beginning the road to real estate investing and have read Kiyosaki’s and de Roos’ books. Being very excited I began looking for other information sources for details and to back-up what I’ve learned. During this search I found a site that rated real estate gurus. I thought it was great until I read that Kiyosaki and de Roos books were questionable.

The site: www.johntreed.com/reedgururating.htm

Now my question. Does anyone know if this guy is reputable? is he off base? or do I need to take the Kiyosaki books with a grain of salt?

Kevin
I appreciate any comments. This may just be someone with a very different view of real estate.

Re: Real Estate Guru Rating? - Posted by GL(ON)

Posted by GL(ON) on February 23, 2002 at 11:42:37:

Kiyosaki is a glib cheerleader but I wouldn’t put too much stock in what he says. He is one of those guys who likes to shoot off his mouth about things he really knows only third hand and by hearsay. Think Cliff Claven on a seminar stage or writing a book.

Reed actually does know what he is talking about, up to a point. But he is way too strict. If you want a cross between the Harvard Business School and the Marines he’s your man. To hear him tell it anything the least bit unconventional is a disaster and a rip off. Then he turns around and writes a book on how to do what he just said you shouldn’t do LOL. Look at his book, How to Buy Real Estate for 20% Below Market Value, then compare to his comments about ripping off unsophisticated sellers by buying from them cheap.

Re: Real Estate Guru Rating? - Posted by Matt

Posted by Matt on February 22, 2002 at 10:14:24:

Kevin,