Realtor's commission..Pros please read - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by FJW on May 17, 1999 at 18:32:47:

They bring buyers and sellers together to form a “meeting of the minds”. Please tell me it wasn’t included in the closing.

Don’t do that anymore. It’ll come back and haunt you. Get an option and get in the deal as a principal. Otherwise, get a license.

FJW

Realtor’s commission…Pros please read - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on May 16, 1999 at 18:57:59:

I am applying for a conventional bank loan on a home I plan to reside in. Being a realtor, I can get 1/2 of the commission kicked back to me at closing. However, there is this stinking federal law that won’t allow me to get a check back at closing. We are talking roughly $4000 here.

My thoughts are to have the seller pay all my closing costs (not the down payment) up to the amount of my portion of the commission, and I would in turn allow the seller to not have to pay my portion of the commission. I would pay all the down payment of course. This would all be in the contract and not some secret side deal. Does this some legal?

Also, if legal what could I do with any money if say the closing costs are only $3000 and I would still have $1000 of the commission left. How could I keep any of this for myself?

Any ideas are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Realtor’s commission…Pros please read - Posted by MC (CA)

Posted by MC (CA) on May 17, 1999 at 14:26:01:

One deal that I did with my sister was to have the seller pay me a “finder’s fee” in closing. I just gave the check to my sister to help with the closing costs.

Re: Realtor’s commission…Pros please read - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on May 17, 1999 at 09:08:02:

The only problem I’m aware of in receiving a commission is the income taxes?.as Irwin states below.