Receiving cash at closing - Posted by Calvin Chen

Posted by Calvin on August 16, 2003 at 24:32:35:

Hi Willie,
Actually, No, Im a newbie. Im just trying to understand the concept of receiving cash at closing. I actually have some funds to play with and a pretty good credit. However, I prefer to keep the cash at hand in case a good deal requiring cash down comes around.
Have you been doing this long?
Im located in NJ so it seems kinda hard to find a deal like this around. Most houses are between 300k-400k for a decent 3 bedroom 2 bath home.
I actually bought my own house in Edison NJ Jan of 2002 and redid the kitchen with new cabinets and hardwood floor as well as redoing 3 bathrooms. Cost me only 15g. But resold it March 2003 for $356,000.
It was my primary residence and I think I could of gotten more, but we were in a rush to sell cuz we are having a new house constructed and needed the cash for the down payment.

Anyway, I got bitten by the bug. I know for sure there is money in real estate and and currently doing my research and trying to understand the concepts and terms.

Should I take the Real Estate exams and work at a Realtor first before I start my real estate investment?
I am still quite afraid to take the plunge. Its mostly the area Im in. I cant seem to find a bargain.
Id like to buy properties needing fixing up in a good area. Im hoping to bank on the area by fixing up kitchens and bathrooms.

Thanx for your input,
Calvin

Receiving cash at closing - Posted by Calvin Chen

Posted by Calvin Chen on August 11, 2003 at 18:01:09:

Hi,
Im abit conused about the "Cash at closing’ deals…etc
Can someone explain to me how I can get cash at closing?
This is my thoughts on it.
A property is estimated to be $60,000 dollars. The seller is willing to sell it for $30,000. So does this mean if I get a loan for $60,000 dollars, Id be getting $30,000 at closing with a mortgage on the full amount of $60,000?
Lets also say that I resold it for $90,000 dollars.