ReFi in Bankruptcy - Posted by Terence

Posted by byron thompson on April 04, 2006 at 17:46:23:

I’m currently in a bankruptcy and recently divorced. i’d like to refi my house so that i can afford to pay my bills and child support. i have a good job. I just need a second chance. is there anyone who can help. i live in St. louis Missouri.

ReFi in Bankruptcy - Posted by Terence

Posted by Terence on July 16, 2005 at 11:19:58:

Is it possible to do a refi while a homeowner is in bankruptcy, most likely not. If so then what are the steps they will have to do, to accomplish this.

Thank you for any info offered

Re: ReFi in Bankruptcy - Posted by John

Posted by John on July 16, 2005 at 13:08:11:

I am a loan officer, and work these on a regular basis. It is called a BK Buyout. It is done to use equity to payoff creditors and get the homeowner out of Bankrupcy. It does need trustee approval and usually 12 months minumum in BK. The rates are not pretty, but not as bad as you would think. The last one I did was 8.99 fixed 30 year with 526 score and 90% LTV. Job history, credit score, and payment history in BK are what is required as well as equity in property.

Re: ReFi in Bankruptcy - Posted by Devon Daughety

Posted by Devon Daughety on July 16, 2005 at 12:32:59:

I think I have heard of one lender doing this, but the rate is so astronomically high, that it wouldn’t make sense to do this. Obviously they’re having a hard time paying their bills, why would they want to refinance to most likely a WAY higher rate and get stuck with a higher house payment that they will probably have trouble paying?? Your best bet is to wait until it is discharged. Then they can refi.

Re: ReFi in Bankruptcy - Posted by Valerie

Posted by Valerie on July 16, 2005 at 11:27:40:

Yes,Terence it is possible. I am a L/O and refinance people in BK. Alot depends on credit scor nad payment history during the BK.

Re: ReFi in Bankruptcy - Posted by sarah jefferson