Refinance appraisal-Too Low - Posted by James B.-Chicagoq

Posted by James B. on November 21, 1998 at 17:53:19:

Actually, the appraisal will cost me $0 if I close with this bank. It is a no-cost re-finance. The way it works is that I paid for the appraisal and credit report ($300) total, and then at closing the bank gives me that money back. So I guess I can’t really complain too much.

Refinance appraisal-Too Low - Posted by James B.-Chicagoq

Posted by James B.-Chicagoq on November 21, 1998 at 16:30:52:

I am in the process of refinacing my SFH (122K). I am a Realtor in the area and I got comps for the lender’s appraiser. The homes in this area all are very similar in style. In fact,the house across the street just sold for 157K. According to the comps, the average selling price is 152K. I bought the home 1 year ago for 135K and it appraised at that time for 140K. I have put about $500 worth of work into the property. All in all, I feel that the property should have appraised for 150K min. Instead it appraised for 145K. This is significant becasue now I have to still pay PMI (although $20 less). The bottom line is that it seems as though the appraiser appraised the home just above the 80%LTV in order so that I still get to pay the bank’s PMI. I am upset. Am I wrong in assuming that the appraiser did this because he is working for the bank?
Would the bank accept an appaisal from an independent appraiser that I hired?
James B.-Melrose park, Il.

Re: Refinance appraisal-Too Low - Posted by Paul

Posted by Paul on November 22, 1998 at 20:28:44: