Rehab ? inspector , contractor or both? - Posted by Maria (FL)

Posted by Maria (FL) on July 25, 2003 at 21:18:18:

Hi!I do realize that although my post may indictate I was counting on that. The area is starting to go up. There is other fixers on the market for $19,000 and up. Fixed they range from 26,000-45,000 depending on size.Hard to pin it down not alot on the market. But much to my disappointment my husband has decided to pass on it. I was really looking forward to the rewards of fixing it up.I will keep looking. :slight_smile: Maria

Rehab ? inspector , contractor or both? - Posted by Maria (FL)

Posted by Maria (FL) on July 24, 2003 at 07:57:01:

Hello. I am looking at a 1940 cottage style home in hernando county. It is wood with the old tin roof up off the ground. It seems solid but does have a sagging floor in one bedroom.Whole neighborhood is this style home. I have no experience with old homes so my question is should I have a contractor look at it to find any flaws and ests or should I hire a home inspector so I dont miss anything. It is in a great rental area and I can get it for 13,000. It sold for 35,000 in 1998 so I believe there is potential.Seems other then the floor only dirty and cosmetic. Any special things I should be looking for?? Thanks so much! :slight_smile:

Re: Rehab ? inspector , contractor or both? - Posted by IB (NJ)

Posted by IB (NJ) on July 24, 2003 at 22:34:15:

Hi Maria. I just wanted to comment on a statement you made:

β€œIt is in a great rental area and I can get it for 13,000. It sold for 35,000 in 1998 so I believe there is potential.”

You do know that the price it sold for 5 years ago often has very little to do with market value? What do the other homes in the area sell for today?

Re: Rehab ? inspector , contractor or both? - Posted by Randy

Posted by Randy on July 24, 2003 at 12:26:53: