Rehabs in a not so nice neighborhood - Posted by JoelD (WI)

Posted by Jen-LA on May 04, 2000 at 10:53:55:

Joel-
we have a wonderful contractor who is worth his weight in gold- who gives us estimates on properties before we buy- estimates on the repairs we tell him we want done. Occasionally he will offer suggestions about termite damage he sees or cheaper ways to do stuff. He does EVERYTHING including plumbing and airconditioning (which is a big deal down here) and will give us one lump price.

Then we just take what he’s given us, and come up with an offering price and a price we need to get it for, and a price we’ll need to sell it for to make profit, and see if it all works. We usually work the numbers over and over for a couple of days to make sure nothing was forgotten. This way, there shouldn’t be any suprises.

Rehabs in a not so nice neighborhood - Posted by JoelD (WI)

Posted by JoelD (WI) on May 03, 2000 at 14:40:11:

Again, I am just getting started and I saw some tax foreclosures advertised in our local paper (MKE).

Anyhow, most of these properties are located in a not so nice part of town, and are for sale for around $10000. Looking at comps from the area homes have sold for $30 to $40,000. Do any of you have experience in doing fixer uppers in the bad part of town? If so are there additional risks - in addition to being mugged while mowing the lawn :slight_smile: It seems like if I could help fix up a neighborhood and make some money in the process it might be good for my soul and pocketbook.

Thanks -

Joel

Let City Hall be your marketing partner (long) - Posted by PatrickMD

Posted by PatrickMD on May 04, 2000 at 09:52:18: