Renting property with a pool - Posted by Terri

Posted by RichV(FL) on September 26, 2003 at 09:46:25:

Terri,

HELOC= home equity line of credit.

Regards,

RichV(FL)

Renting property with a pool - Posted by Terri

Posted by Terri on September 25, 2003 at 12:23:41:

I’m just getting into REI and it’s nice to meet you all!

Here’s my situation:
I’m currently living in a home that I purchased over 2 years ago. I’m considering renting it out when I move into a new home, however, this one has an inground pool and spa. Is it worth the hassle to hold onto this house when it has amenities like this? Or, should I just buy one that is less ‘high maintenance’?

Another question: My new house should be finished in May. If I do sell this one, do you see any reason why I should wait until I’m settled into the new house to begin investing in real estate? i.e. buy another house and rent it, or flip it…I haven’t decided which is best for me yet. Would my mortgage rate be higher if I bought another property before getting into my new house? I have excellent credit. Plus, the longer I wait, the more prices are increasing. (I’m in Las Vegas)
I have the CS program: CDs, book and videos that was given to me by a friend who hasn’t even looked at it. I’m listening to that and learning everyday. Plus, this message board is an awesome find!

Renting Vs. Selling - Posted by John Smith, IV

Posted by John Smith, IV on September 30, 2003 at 23:55:55:

If it was me (you will have to weigh in tax situation, cash flow needs, and other variables) I would sell and finance it myself rather than renting.

Why?

Well, if you sell and collect the mortgage payments, the occupant will behave as an owner rather than a renter.

Tenants tend to destroy properties much more than owners.

You will be receiving monthly payments regardless, but in one situation you will be resposible for the property, and in the other situation you won’t.