replacing a deck - composite or pressure-treated? - Posted by Angela

Posted by Dave J on July 18, 2002 at 09:24:33:

I did my own deck out of trex this summer. I love the stuff. It works just like wood but without all the inherant problems. They just came out with a new color called “Saddle” it finally looks like wood instead of all the others that fade to some shade of gray in a couple of months. However, it is pricey. I don’t know if I would spend the money on a rental. Its more than twice the cost of PT where I live and if you decide to use their handrail system then you will be floored. Would I do it again? Yes but, only if I’m keeping the house for a long time. Plus as a contractor I build them myself and love doing it so that makes a bit of a difference.

replacing a deck - composite or pressure-treated? - Posted by Angela

Posted by Angela on July 18, 2002 at 03:14:42:

Hi everyone,

I need to replace a deck on a rental house. The existing deck “planks” are particle board, and I don’t think any sealant, etc., was ever applied (blame it on a newbie real estate agent and newbie investors).

The AZ heat and monsoons have been really tough on the existing deck, which self-destructed after only a few years. It’s time to replace the deck - but should I go with pressure-treated wood (tried and true, cheap, but requires a lot of maintenance) or composite decking material (newfangled, more expensive to buy, but zero maintenance).

I am leaning towards the composite decking. Has anyone had any experience with this material? Is it as long-lasting and maintenance-free as they advertise?

I would be especially interested in hearing from my fellow AZ investors.

Thanks for your help,
Angela

Re: replacing a deck - composite or pressure - Posted by LeonNC

Posted by LeonNC on July 18, 2002 at 10:41:53: