Return of "last months rent"

I have been renting a room in my home for the past 2 months. Unexpectedly my renter told me he would be leaving at the end on the month. He told me this on Jan 22, giving me 9 days notice.
We have no rental contract. The only thing that was signed by both of us was a receipt for first and last months rent. No deposit was collected.
Since he already paid the rent for January at the beginning of January he feels that I should return the “last months rent” that he paid when he moved in.
What legal standing do I have not to return this money.
I was thinking of telling him that I would prorate it if I found a new roommate to move in before the end of January.
Any thoughts would be helpful.
Andy

Your LL/T laws?

Every state has landlord/tenant law and you need to Google yours and read it to see what it says about return of deposit, etc.

e.g.: WA State law says LL may retain but has to give T written notice as to why, etc and is very specific about this…and should LL do it wrong or fail to do it then he (LL) must return full deposit and pay attorneys fees and penalty should he fail to do so.

I’d go to Google and put in: “KY (or whatever state the prop is in) LandlordL-Tenant law”

It does depend on your regulations however:

If I use my regulations as an example (most will be different but similar) last month rent (LMR) is only to be used for the last month and nothing else. Damage deposit is a different matter.