Screening tenants - Posted by Charley Menendez

Posted by RichV(FL) on April 23, 2006 at 05:56:38:

Wayne,

Oh sure I do…you can screen tenants to death and still get deadbeats that slip through the cracks…its all part of the business.

I knew RE would continue to stay strong in Hawaii.

I’ll drop you an email off the board and let you know what we are up to here.

RichV(FL)

Screening tenants - Posted by Charley Menendez

Posted by Charley Menendez on April 21, 2006 at 11:47:32:

What is the best way to screen new potential tenants? I am new to being a landlord. Any suggestions would help.

Thank You,

Charley

Re: Screening tenants - Posted by RichV(FL)

Posted by RichV(FL) on April 21, 2006 at 18:20:22:

Charley,

I have had luck with RealChek America, www.realchek.com. They do credit, criminal, skip trace, etc.

So far so good.

Great Success,

RichV(FL)

Re: Screening tenants - Posted by speednxs

Posted by speednxs on April 21, 2006 at 16:11:27:

By all means run a credit check. It?s funny how prospective tenants suddenly remember financial problems when you tell them you are running a credit check. I suppose screening companies are good about criminal records, evictions and other stuff. You can google them as well.

If you have one or two expensive Single Family Residences s you will probably want to check them out more extensively than if you have a 40 unit low income apartment complex.

Check references by phone. I try to write down standard questions so I won?t blank out in the interview.
Do they smoke?
Do they have pets? Destructive?
Do they have kids/step kids (not to mention live in boyfriends/girlfriends)? How many? Are they well behaved?
Are you related (unless the application reference says ?brother?)?
Are they financially responsible?
Do they have a stable job situation?
How long did they live in their last rental? The one before?
Would you rent your home to them?