Section 8 Housing - Posted by Zulema

Posted by CindyS-De on April 24, 2000 at 06:46:46:

Zulema, Here in Delaware I am just learning the process for the first time. I found a prospective tenant and after doing my own checks on her found she was acceptable. I then called the housing authority and they came to inspect my unit. They will always find something that needs to be done so be prepared for that. If you feel that you don’t want to do as they ask then they won’t let you rent to that tenant. You then corect the problems they find and they come back for another inspection and check for your corrections. You are then given the okay and an appointment is set with the tenants’ case worker. You both have to go to this appointment. The lease is signed, any monies are paid and the keys are turned over. That is the part that I disagree with. In my case the lease is going to be signed for May 1st but I have to give keys at our appointment on the 27th. I will be objecting to it and will see if there is compromise.

Section 8 Housing - Posted by Zulema

Posted by Zulema on April 24, 2000 at 01:15:39:

Two questions from a Newbie: 1. How long does it take for a prospective tenant to qualify for Section 8 Housing? 2. What is the process for an owner to qualify his house for Section 8 Housing? Thank You, Zulema

Re: Section 8 Housing - Posted by Jill

Posted by Jill on April 24, 2000 at 16:07:26: