seeking advice from experienced MH park owners - Posted by Shannon

Posted by Ryan (NC) on January 21, 2007 at 14:39:15:

nt

seeking advice from experienced MH park owners - Posted by Shannon

Posted by Shannon on January 21, 2007 at 07:58:14:

I am a rookie so bear with me…

Looking at at small, rural MH park with 5 MH dating from 1960-1980. All 5 trailers are currently rented.

Trailers are on 5 acres in SC…beautiful property out in the country but still very close to growing area/development. BTW, the listing agent said I cannot add anymore trailers to the property but I need to check with local zoning laws.

Asking price is 225K. Septic system in place(little nervous about that) and monthly gross rents are 2650. I put the numbers into a pro forma form and looks like I would get decent positive cash flow.

What are concerns that I should be evaluating closely and asking listing agent for? Rent rolls, operating expenses, records of maintenance of septic, etc? Should I ask to see the inside of every trailer before making an offer?

Finally, is 225K a good price or should I offer lower? Anyone with input, I appreciate your thoughts and input.

Re: seeking advice from experienced MH park owners - Posted by Daphne Lowe

Posted by Daphne Lowe on January 24, 2007 at 10:19:56:

This may be a good deal as a land play if your exit strategy is to hold it until the pressure of redevelopment knocks at your door. IF you have to money to bring it into county compliance, and IF you would be ok with the property just breaking even during your holding period, and IF the property is reasonably priced (slightly above raw land value), and IF you have no better (less speculative, higher yield) use for your funds, THEN perhaps it is worth your time. Otherwise, keep looking.

Daphne

Re: seeking advice from experienced MH park owners - Posted by Shannon

Posted by Shannon on January 23, 2007 at 09:07:41: