Should I get my Realtors license - Posted by Brian

Posted by JamesL (Ohio) on February 09, 2002 at 13:30:24:

YES. Get your license.
In this business, you keep learning constantly. The information that you would receive while studying for your agent license will help you see more opportunities while you’re investing. Knowledge is power. In addition, how would you like to keep an extra 3.5% on every deal you make??? If you are your own agent, YOU get to keep your commission!
Finally, I have spoken with many investors who decided to get their license just to save money on commissions. Later on, they found that being an agent was making them even more money by being involved in other deals!
Happy investing…and LEARN LEARN LEARN.

Should I get my Realtors license - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on February 09, 2002 at 12:57:21:

I am just starting out investing in real estate. I have immediate family who has done this for years pretty succesfully.

I am trying to find out if there are any advantages to taking the NYS 45 hour course ($200) and taking the agents exam. Will it give me an inside line to properties? Or will it be more trouble than it is worth?

I do not have a real interest in selling properties for others. I have found a broker to sponsor me and allow me to sell as much or as little as I want. One realtor told me he does not think it would be a wise investment. That he does not think that it would give me any advantage, unless of course I wanted to be in the real estate sales business.

What do season fellow investors think?

Re: Should I get my Realtors license - Posted by ShermanDC

Posted by ShermanDC on February 09, 2002 at 15:16:12:

Depends: If this is just a, kinda sorta thing - May not be the best use of your time. If you are committed to the long haul - Absolutely