Should i try to buy this one? - Posted by Tim Fitzpatrick

Posted by Brad Crouch on May 26, 2000 at 02:17:33:

that in order to pay $550 per month in rent, it actually means you must earn around $825 to make that payment (due to Federal & State income taxes). This is because rent is paid with “after tax” dollars.

As a “homeowner” you are not “renting”. You pay THOSE monthly payments with “after tax” dollars. So you don’t really have to wait for the “purchase price” payments to go down to a lower level than the current rent in order to avoid “loss”.

Naturally, the amounts mentioned would be slightly lower if you live in a state with no state income tax.

Brad

Should i try to buy this one? - Posted by Tim Fitzpatrick

Posted by Tim Fitzpatrick on May 23, 2000 at 20:32:57:

This is the most interesting site i have ever found!!!
Thank You all for your input
Ive been renting this house for 3 years.
5 bedroom/1.5 bathrooms 3 story row house.
When i moved here it was unoccupied for about 2 years,the owner raised his family here, he moved into a single home, and rented this one. He had a real bad tenant that wreaked the house. He made repairs(took him about 1 year to fix it all)and put it on the market. It didnt sell so he put it up for rent again for $650.00 per month/reduced it to $550.00 per month with the deal being he could show it…still on the market! Needless to say it didnt sell yet only 2 people have showed up to see it and that was about 2 years ago. Across the street is a working mans bar with a fair amount of noise in the summer. When i moved in it was listed for $74,500.00.